The Bottom 40

nelly-grillz

Every single week I find a handful new pop songs that both excite and delight my ears. But for every new song I like, there’s unfortunately at least three that I don’t, and some of those stinkers become quite popular and really very annoying over time. Here’s my list of the forty worst offenders of the decade. So as not to drive myself too crazy, I restricted the list to songs that made the top 40 on Billboard’s Hot 100 (which is not the same as the airplay chart, but which is much easier to find by lazily browsing Wikipedia.)

Some artists have spent much of the decade annoying me, and each new release makes me want to throw my hands up in despair. Or just throw up. Yet I restrained myself, limiting the list to one song per artist. Because really, is there any point in weighing the cons and cons of each 3 Doors Down hit? No.

I spread my choices out over a bunch of posts. Click on the titles to be linked to my ranting.

40. Lonestar, I’m Already There
39. Gym Class Heroes feat. Patrick Stump, Cupid’s Chokehold
38. The Calling, Wherever You Will Go
37. Carrie Underwood, Inside Your Heaven
36. Sara Bareilles, Love Song
35. Nelly, Grillz
34. Uncle Kracker, Drift Away
33. DHT feat. Edmee, Listen To Your Heart
32. Akon, Lonely
31. Daniel Powter, Bad Day

30. 3 Doors Down, When I’m Gone
29. Staind, It’s Been Awhile
28. Evanescence, Bring Me To Life
27. Colbie Caillat, Bubbly
26. Red Hot Chili Peppers, Dani California
25. The Black Eyed Peas, Hey Mama
24. Los Lonely Boys, Heaven
23. 3Oh!3, Don’t Trust Me
22. John Mayer, Daughters
21. Hinder, Lips of an Angel

20. Michelle Branch, Are You Happy Now?
19. Katy Perry, I Kissed A Girl
18. All Star Tribute, What’s Going On
17. Kings of Leon, Use Somebody
16. Hoobastank, The Reason
15. Clay Aiken, Invisible
14. Plain White T’s, Hey There Delilah
13. Aerosmith, Jaded
12. DJ Sammy and Yanou feat. Do, Heaven
11. Creed, With Arms Wide Open

10. Puddle of Mudd, Blurry
9. Bowling For Soup, 1985
8. Jason Mraz, The Remedy (I Won’t Worry)
7. Train, Drops of Jupiter (Tell Me)
6. Avril Lavigne, I’m With You
5. Nickelback, Rock Star
4. Sheryl Crow, Soak Up The Sun
3. Eminem, Superman
2. Kanye West feat. Jamie Foxx, Gold Digger
1. Fergie, Big Girls Don’t Cry

Leave a Reply

